Skip to content

Close to Me – In a Spin

October 15, 2010

Inspired by a delicious time being a student at Hoop Camp and Spin Matsuri, today I had an overwhelming desire to spin. I have not played much with sustained spinning although I still remember the hours of dizzy exhilaration I created as a child spinning around endlessly.

Today’s process: Pick a few tracks I like but wo…uldn’t usually dance to. Make a small hoop (I made a 60cm out of 19mm poly). Put on something that I felt good moving it. Clear a space. Set up camera to capture my first attempts at sustained spinning and to record any downloads of new movement. Spin. Breath.

Felt a soothing comfort in the spin and a connectedness to the smaller hoop. Enjoyed balancing and pressing it close to my body while playing with repetitive moves.

I wanted not to edit anything that I captured, this video is chopped up into pieces purely because in between songs I threw up 6 times and had to stop the camera! HA! I guess you could say this form of dance really had a physical impact on me. I enjoyed the contrast between spinning bliss and intense rejection.

Looking forward to practicing more and refining moves although I want to hold on to the fresh feeling of new movement without thought that I captured today.

Bliss!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 15, 2010 1:13 am

    I love how slow and controlled this is. Beautiful! You rock my world! :)

  2. October 15, 2010 1:16 am

    Thank you amazing lady! Your sweet words make me smile! Love to you xxx

  3. October 15, 2010 2:54 am

    Really enjoyed this :] – Like the idea of choosing songs that draw you in but that you wouldn’t normally dance to…

    I hope to find some time to give it a try myself this weekend!

  4. October 15, 2010 5:23 pm

    Have a delicious time in the spin Allison!

Trackbacks

  1. Going In Circles

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 53 other followers

